Our policy on assessments is linked to the seven areas of learning found in the Early Years Foundation Stages (EYFS).

These are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development – making relationships, self confidence and awareness, managing feelings and behavior
  • Physical Development – moving and handling, health and self care
  • Communication and Language – listening and attention, understanding, speaking
  • Literacy – Reading and writing
  • Mathematics – numbers, shape, space and measure
  • Understanding of the World – people and communities, the world, technology
  • Expressive Arts and Design – exploring and using media and materials

We also use the Characteristics of effective learning, which are:

  • Creating and thinking critically – thinking
  • Active Learning – motivation
  • Playing and Exploring – engagement

Our aim is:

  • To make up-dated assessments
  • For every child to have their own folder
  • To transfer findings on individuals each half term to parents/carers
  • To ensure children’s work is dated
  • To have key workers responsible for keeping their children’s folder up to date
  • To note comments/actions of children down on “post it notes” or note books or using photographs
  • To use focus objective sheets on clip boards for assessments and planning
  • To collate children’s work as evidence
  • To share findings with parents
  • To encourage parents to share changes they have noticed in their children, via our annual feedback and comments form

And in so doing these assessments inform our planning.